Comparing Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo’s Ballon d’Or Awards; who has won more?

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are two of the greatest football players who ever lived...READ THE FULL STORY HERE▶▶▶

They have combined for 12 Ballon d’Or awards in their illustrious careers.

Sports Brief compares the two legends’ Ballon d’Or awards, with Messi poised to add another to his growing collection in a few weeks.

Messi holds the record for most Ballon d’Or awards, winning the prestigious prize seven times.

He won his first Ballon d’Or in 2009 after leading Barcelona to a historic treble.

He made history with that triumph, becoming the first Argentine-born player to win the award since Omar Sívori in 1961.

Messi scored 38 goals in 51 matches that season to grab the award in dominating fashion. He finished 240 points ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo in the voting.

Messi made it back-to-back titles in 2010, getting 22.65% of the vote to beat out fellow finalists and Barcelona teammates Andres Iniesta and Xavi for the honour.

He scored 60 goals in all competitions for club and country that year, leading Barcelona to victory in La Liga and the Spanish Super Cup.

The Argentine star continued his Ballon d’Or stranglehold in 2011, getting 47.88% of the vote to beat out finalists Ronaldo and Xavi for the honour.

He scored 53 goals in 55 matches that season. Messi stamped his class in the Champions League, scoring 12 times in 13 games as he led Barcelona to another European title.

Messi made history in 2012, becoming the first player to win four consecutive Ballon d’Or awards.

He got 41.6% of the vote to beat out Ronaldo and Iniesta.

He was at the peak of his powers, scoring a world-record 91 goals for Barcelona and Argentina that season, per Bleacher Report.

Messi won his fifth Ballon d’Or award in 2015, getting 41.33% of the vote to beat out fellow finalists Ronaldo and Neymar.

He helped Barca win the titles in the Champions League, La Liga, the Copa del Rey, Spanish Super Cup, European Super Cup, and Club World Cup that year.

Messi claimed his sixth Ballon d’Or award in 2019, edging past Virgil van Dijk in a close vote. He finished seven points ahead of the Liverpool defender to become the all-time winner of the coveted award, surpassing Ronaldo.

He helped Barcelona win La Liga and was the top scorer both in Europe and Spain. He scored 51 goals in 50 matches in all competitions that season.

Zlatan Ibrahimović, Thierry Henry and Neymar among the 10 greatest players never to win coveted Ballon d’Or

Messi won the Ballon d’Or award for a record-extending seventh time in 2021. He earned the award after leading Argentina to the Copa America title.

He scored 41 goals and dished out 17 assists for club and country that year.

Ronaldo won his first Ballon d’Or award in 2008 after he led Manchester United to a Premier League and Champions League double.

He finished 165 points ahead of Messi in the voting, with 77 out of the 96 writers selecting him as their No. 1 player of the year.

The Portuguese star winning the award was never in doubt after scoring 42 goals for United that season.

Ronaldo returned to the top in 2013, ending Messi’s four-year reign as Ballon d’Or winner. He got 27.99% of the vote to beat out fellow finalists Messi and Franck Ribery.

He retained the title in 2014, getting 37.66% of the vote to beat out Messi and Manuel Neuer.

The honour was well-deserved, with Ronaldo scoring 61 goals for club and country that year. He helped Real Madrid win the Champions League, the Club World Cup, the European Super Cup, and the Copa del Rey in 2014.

Ronaldo won his fourth Ballon d’Or award in 2016 after helping Real Madrid win the Champions League and leading Portugal to success in the European Championship.

He registered 51 goals and 17 assists in 55 appearances for club and country that year, per Sky Sports.

Ronaldo captured his fifth and final Ballon d’Or award the following year in 2017. He received 946 points to beat out Messi and Neymar for the top honour.

He helped Real Madrid win the Champions League again, scoring a double in the final and finishing as the tournament’s leading scorer for the fifth year running.

He also led Real to victory in La Liga, and the Spanish and European Super Cups.

Messi takes lead in fan vote
Sports Brief recently reported on Messi leading in the fan vote for the 2023 Ballon d’Or.

The Argentine star is looking to become the first player stationed in Major League Soccer to capture the award.

He moved to Inter Miami this year, leading the club to the Leagues Cup title.

Leave a Comment

Discover more from UTWEETS

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading