Breaking News

Full List Of ECOWAS Members After It Took Fresh Action On Niger, Mali, Burkina Faso

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) has decided to lift economic sanctions on Niger, Mali, and Burkina Faso with immediate effect.

This decision came after extensive discussions during an extraordinary summit on the political, peace, and security situation in the region held at the State House, Abuja on Saturday.

Dr. Omar Touray, President of the ECOWAS Commission, announced the Authority’s resolutions, which include the suspension of the closure of land and air borders to Niger and the lifting of a no-fly zone for all commercial flights. Additionally, ECOWAS has suspended the freezing of all financial transactions between its member states and Niger, including those involving the bloc’s central bank, and has unfrozen all of Niger’s assets at EBID.

Earlier reports had indicated that Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger Republic announced their withdrawal from ECOWAS on Sunday, January 28, citing concerns that the regional body had strayed from the ideals of its founding fathers and pan-Africanism. However, the ECOWAS Commission responded by stating that it had not received formal notice of withdrawal from the three countries and affirmed that they remain important members of the Community and the Authority.

A review of ECOWAS’ official website confirms that Burkina Faso, Niger, and Mali are still recognized as member states of the bloc.

Here is the full list of ECOWAS member countries:

  1. Benin
  2. Burkina Faso
  3. Cabo Verde
  4. Côte d’Ivoire
  5. The Gambia
  6. Ghana
  7. Guinea
  8. Guinea Bissau
  9. Liberia
  10. Mali
  11. Niger
  12. Nigeria
  13. Senegal
  14. Sierra Leone

Leave a Comment

Discover more from UTWEETS

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading